The Synagogue of Aegina was discovered in 1829 by the German historian Ludwig Ross, near the island’s present-day harbour. Archaeological excavations revealed a mosaic floor with two dedicatory inscriptions referring to a synagogue just one metre below the surface. The mosaic floor is rectangular and has geometric patterns, such as alternating ovals, circles, white tesserae and lotus flowers. The two mosaic inscriptions are on the west side of the field, framed in tabulae ansatae, marking the entrance of the synagogue. The inscriptions refer to the raising of the synagogue by the Archisynagogos (Theodorus), using donations from members of the synagogue and revenue from the Jewish Community of Aegina. The synagogue of Aegina was in a unique architectural style, representing a transition between the single-hall type of synagogue and the later basilica type. The date of the synagogue may be deduced from the inscriptions and their decorative patterns. The mosaic floor of Aegina’s Synagogue displays the typical mosaic floor decoration of the 4th century C.E. and can be safely dated between 300-350 C.E.